Home > Events > Volunteer Recognition Luncheon

Updated 2018 VRL Nomination Form

It’s time to turn the spotlight on one of your most special volunteers! This is your opportunity to recognize one of those rare individuals who is consistently there to lend a hand — someone who has been vital to the success of your organization or cause through outstanding volunteer service. Most likely, the hardest part of this process is deciding who to nominate. But, do not let that stop you. Get a few others from your group together and start the new year on a positive note by thinking about who you would like to honor.

The Community Foundation and the Pledge for Life Partnership will once again join the United Way of Kankakee and Iroquois Counties in celebrating the achievements of outstanding community volunteers at the 30th Annual Kankakee County Volunteer Recognition Luncheon. This celebration will be held April 20, 2018 at the Kankakee Country Club. This special event, originally established by the Junior League of Kankakee County in 1989, has been instrumental in recognizing the broad and significant impact of volunteerism in Kankakee County for the past 30 years.

You are cordially invited to nominate an individual (or couple) who has displayed outstanding volunteer service and who is an inspiration to others.  Nominations for Outstanding Volunteers are being accepted in the following categories:

Arts and Culture – Civic – Education – Environment – Health – Recreation/Sports – Religious/Spiritual – Social Services – Youth Volunteer (21 years old or less)

The Volunteer Recognition Committee will review applications and select a minimum of five
winners, plus one youth winner (age 21 and younger). Previous winners are not eligible to win
again. Only one nomination will be accepted per organization. Nominees must either live in Kankakee County or provide their volunteer services in Kankakee County

Print application here: Updated 2018 VRL Nomination Form

You may also request an electronic version of the nomination form by sending an email to k3covolunteer@gmail.com.

Nominations must include the form provided and be received no later than February 28.  You may either email your nomination to the above email address or send it to Debra Baron, 1000 South Wildwood, Kankakee, IL 60901. Please call (815) 932-2819 with any questions.

Previous Outstanding Volunteer Awards

These six awards (five adults and one youth) have been chosen based on the nominee demonstration of commendable service to others.

Harold Award Winner

The Harold Award is presented to one individual who has continual provided outstanding service and dedication to our youth.

2017 – Rebecca McBloom

2016 – Danny Wetzel

2015 – Lutipa Sorich

2014 – Jackie LaMotte Haas

2012 – Sandra Knight

2011 – Roxanne Hooper

2010 – James Riordan

2009 – Grace Seggebruch

2008 – Michael C. Power

2007 – Marie Cardosi

2006 – Paul Snellenberger

2005 – Pam Lee JoAnne Schwade

2004 – Kay Pangle

2003 – Kay Green

2002 – Jean Alice Small

2001 – Karen James Deb Baron

2000 – Al Lemon

1999 – Brenda Wetzel

1998 – Lura Lynn Ryan, Walter J. Charlton